Tags

,

I received this message from my sister just this morning.
She writes: “Do you remember the word ‘davenport?'”
Our grandmother “used to use that word instead of couch.
I looked it up; it was a regional word in that people from
the Midwest and the East Coast used it, etc.”

I must say I had forgotten this word. But I have come to
realize over time, these Midwestern words rise up from
memory at the most appropriate times. My 17 year old
son is constantly amazed at my Midwestern words and
phrases that seem to rise up from out of nowhere.

I love these idioms. I would hate for them to fall into obvlivion.
They also bring I and my sister closer to the memory of our 
Grandmother, Midge Iveson.

So here is yet another word to rise up out of our yesteryear!

1. dav·en·port

  /ˈdiveənˌpɔrt, -ˌpoʊrt/ Show Spelled[davuhn-pawrt, -pohrt] Show IPA
–noun 1. a large sofa, often one convertible into a bed.
    

              

2. Chiefly British . a small writing desk.
Origin: 1850–55; the desk is said to be named after a Captain Davenport
who first commissioned it

2. Dav·en·port
   /ˈdævənˌpɔrt, -ˌpoʊrt/ Show Spelled[

davuhn-pawrt, -pohrt] Show IPA
–noun 1. John, 1597–1670, Puritan clergyman: one of the founders
of New Haven.
2. a city in E Iowa, on the Mississippi River.
   

Dictionary.com Unabridged
Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2010.
Cite This Source
|
Link To davenport
World English Dictionary
 
 
 

 

3. davenport (ˈdævənˌpɔːt)
n
1. chiefly ( Brit ) a tall narrow desk with a slanted writing surface
and drawers at the side
2. ( US ), ( Canadian ) a large sofa, esp one convertible into a bed
[C19: sense 1 said to be named after Captain Davenport , who
commissioned the first ones]
Collins English Dictionary – Complete & Unabridged 10th Edition
2009 © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins
Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009
Cite This Source
 
 

 

