Tags

, , , , , , ,

This Holiday Season, I was reminded of my middle school years (junior high school to those who haven’t been in school for a long number of years like myself). I was part of the Honor Choir and our group gave a rousing performance for that year’s Christmas program (yes, we called it “Christmas” then).One of the songs that has stayed me to this day was the Latin hymn “Adoramus Te.” The lyrics and translation are given as follows:

Adoramus Te, Christe
et benedicimus tibi
adoramus Te, Christe
et benedicimus Tibi

Quia per sanctem crucem Tuam
redemisti mundum

Adoramus Te, Christe
et benedicimus Tibi

Adoramus Te, Christe

(translation)

We adore Thee, Christ
and we bless Thee (2x)

Who, by your holy suffering,
redeemed the world

We adore Thee, Christ
and bless Thee

Source URL: http://www.metrolyrics.com/adoramus-te-lyrics-beth-nielsen-chapman.html

This song was the highlight of our evening program, and I can still clearly recall the lines. Not half bad for someone who never took Latin. I do not recall any of the other songs we sang that night; but for some reason “Adoramus Te” has stayed with me.

Now that I am much older I can more fully appreciate the meaning of the lines. Feel free to follow the above name link to listen to the ancient Latin hymn. And it is with this hope that you will enjoy its haunting refrain. May you and yours have a very happy New Year!

 
