Tags

, , , , , ,

As many of my readers know, I have for many years provided insight on curious, oblique, and antiquated words. It seems funny to me, because they are not curious, oblique, and antiquated in my estimation. But for some reason the world has passed me by, and already I hear comments upon words as being out of date; and worse yet! That I sound like I am out of date! Therefore, I am once again on my campaign to instruct the world (the English speaking world that is) about the rich and capricious world of the English language. Today our entry is compunctious. I rediscovered this word while reading the Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri (Translator: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow). Enjoy!

compunctious

[kuhm-puhngk-shuhs]   Origin

com·punc·tious

[kuhm-puhngk-shuhs] adjective causing or feeling compunction;  regretful.

Origin:
1595–1605; compunct(ion)  + -ious

Related forms

com·punc·tious·ly, adverb

“compunctious.” Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. 25 Jun. 2012. <Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/compunctious

