, , , , , ,

From Scott P. Richert

your Guide to Catholicism

Confession Is Just the Beginning

 Confession is one of the most powerful and yet most underused of the seven sacraments. But frequent Confession isn’t just a good idea; it’s essential for spiritual growth. While the sacrament may end with absolution and the performing of your penance, the cultivation of the fruit of Confession begins only after we exit the confessional door.

One of the Four Cardinal Virtues:

Prudence is one of the four cardinal virtues. Like the other three, it is a virtue that can be practiced by anyone; unlike the theological virtues, the cardinal virtues are not, in themselves, the gifts of God through grace but the outgrowth of habit. However, Christians can grow in the cardinal virtues through sanctifying grace, and thus prudence can take on a supernatural dimension as well as a natural one.

Search Related Topics: confession penance absolution

Prudence: The First Cardinal Virtue

On Tuesday, we took a broad overview of the cardinal virtues, the four principal virtues that represent the foundation of natural morality. Today, we take an in-depth look at the first of the cardinal virtues: prudence, which allows us to judge correctly what is right and what is wrong in any given situation.

Search Related Topics:

the cardinal virtues the theological virtues sanctifying grace

Source URL: http://catholicism.about.com/od/beliefsteachings/p/Prudence.htm?nl=1